Historical Commission Minutes

City of Foley Council Chambers 407 E. Laurel Ave. Foley, Alabama **November 5, 2024** 1:00 p.m.

I. Call to order

Chairman JaNay Dawson called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.

II. Roll call

Members present were: Jerry Morrison, Kathie LeDrew, Kim Ward, JaNay Dawson, Donna Turbyfill and Chad Watkins. Absent member was Bill Swanson. Staff present were: Nathan Smith, Building Inspector; Eden Lapham, Planner 1 and Amanda Cole, Acting Recording Secretary.

III. Approval of Minutes

• Approve October 1, 2024 minutes as published

Commissioner Ward made a motion to approve the October 1, 2024 meeting minutes. Commissioner Morrison seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the October 1, 2024 meeting minutes passes.

IV. Staff Approvals

 South Baldwin Social LLC Michelle McConnell 115 W. Laurel Ave. National District- Contributing
a. Request to install wall signage

Mr. Nathan Smith stated a staff approval was issued for a 20 sq ft sign wall sign. Mr. Smith noted the sign has been installed and it is in the same place as the previous sign.

VII. New Business

• Approval of the 2025 Meeting/Deadline Calendar

Commissioner LeDrew made a motion to approve the 2025 Meeting/Deadline Calendar. Commissioner Ward seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the 2025 Meeting/Deadline Calendar passes.

• Select a Nominating Committee for the 2025 Officers

Chairman Dawson stated the Nomination Committee is responsible for nominating the Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Commissioner Morrison and Commissioner Ward were selected to serve as the nominating committee.

Commissioner Turbyfill made a motion for Commissioner Morrison and Commissioner Ward to serve as the nominating committee. Commissioner LeDrew seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion for Commissioner Morrison and Commissioner Ward to serve on the nominating Committee passes.

VIII. Monthly Discussion

There was no monthly discussion.

IX. Adjournment

Commissioner Watkins made a motion to adjourn at 1:10 p.m. Commissioner Morrison seconded the Motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.