The City of Foley Planning Commission held a meeting on December 11, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall located at 407 E. Laurel Avenue. Members present were: Larry Engel, Ralph Hellmich, Wes Abrams, Calvin Hare, Vera Quaites, Phillip Hinesley and Bill Swanson. Absent members were: Deborah Mixon and Tommy Gebhart. Staff present were: Miriam Boone, City Planner; Wayne Dyess, Executive Director of Infrastructure and Development; Chad Christian, City Engineer; Angie Eckman, Environmental Manager; Eden Lapham, Planner 1; Amanda Cole, Planning and Zoning Assistant and Melissa Ringler Recording Secretary.

Chairman Wes Abrams called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

MINUTES:

Approval of the November 6, 2024 and November 13, 2024 meeting minutes.

Commissioner Swanson made a motion to approve the November 6, 2024 and November 13, 2024 meeting minutes. Commissioner Hinesley seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the November 5, 2024 and November 13, 2024 meeting minutes passes.

AGENDA ITEMS:

1. Resubdivision of Lots 200 & 201 of Roberts Cove Phase 3- Minor

The City of Foley Planning Commission has received a request for approval of the Resubdivision of lots 200 & 201 of Roberts Cove Phase 3, a minor subdivision which consists of 0.38 +/- acres and 2 lots. Property is located S. of County Rd. 12 and E. of the Foley Beach Express. Applicant is the Engineering Design Group.

Mrs. Boone explained staff is recommending approval. She stated the request is to shift lot lines and no new lots are being created.

Planning Commission Action:

Commissioner Hinesley made a motion to approve the requested minor subdivision. Commissioner Hellmich seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the requested minor subdivision passes.

2. Resubdivision of Lot 30 Angie Baldwin Subdivision 2nd Addition- Minor

The City of Foley Planning Commission has received a request for approval of the Resubdivision of Lot 30 Angie Baldwin Subdivision 2nd Addition, a minor subdivision which consists of 0.86+/- acres and 2 lots. Property is located at 13223 Lymon Ln. Applicant is Weygand Wilson Surveying, LLC.

Note: *Denotes property located in the Planning Jurisdiction

Public Hearing:

Chairman Abrams asked if there were any members of the public to speak on the item. There were none.

Planning Commission Action:

Mrs. Boone stated staff is recommending approval. She explained the original recommendation was denial due to information needing to be added to the plat which has been completed.

Commissioner Hellmich made a motion to approve the requested minor subdivision. Commissioner Quaites seconded the motion. Commissioner Hare abstained and all other Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the requested minor subdivision passes.

3. A Replat of Lot 3A Togogo Subdivision- Minor

The City of Foley Planning Commission has received a request for approval of the Replat of Lot 3A Togogo Subdivision which consists of 11 +/- acres and 1 lots. Property is located N. of 9th Ave. and W. of S. McKenzie St. Applicant is the City of Foley.

Planning Commission Action:

Mrs. Boone stated agenda items 3 & 4 are separate items but both are being done to accommodate future road construction.

Mr. Chad Christian stated the city is gaining row along the western margin.

Commissioner Hellmich stated the subdivision is being done for a future planned road that will help with connectivity and relieve some pressure off of Oak Street. He explained the road will be located beside the Aaronville Park. He stated there may possibly have to be improvements to reduce speed and that will be determined after the road is in place and the amount of traffic is evaluated

Mr. Dyess stated the road will increase visibility to the park.

Commissioner Hellmich stated a lot of complaints are received from residents on Oak Street in regards to traffic. He explained they are hoping the new road will help lessen the traffic on Oak Street.

Commissioner Engel made a motion to approve the requested minor subdivision. Commissioner Quaites seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the requested minor subdivision passes.

4. Replat of Lot 2B of the Resubdivision of Lot 2 of Broadway-Lawson Avenue-Minor The City of Foley Planning Commission has received a request for approval of the Replat of Lot 2B of the Resubdivision of Lot 2 of Broadway-Lawson Avenue which consists of 11 +/- acres and 1 lots. Property is located S. of W. Lawson Ave. and W. of S. McKenzie St. Applicant is the City of Foley.

Note: *Denotes property located in the Planning Jurisdiction

Planning Commission Action:

Commissioner Hellmich made a motion to approve the requested minor subdivision. Commissioner Swanson seconded the motion.

Commissioner Engel asked if there were any plans for the larger parcels.

Commissioner Hellmich stated the larger parcels are owned by the Foley's and he is not aware of any plans for the parcels at this time.

All Commissioners voted aye. Motion to approve the requested minor subdivision passes.

5. Zoning Ordinance Amendments

Public Hearing:

Chairman Abrams asked if there were any members of the public to speak on the item. There were none.

Planning Commission Action:

Mrs. Boone stated staff is recommending approval of the proposed amendments.

Commissioner Hinesley made a motion to recommend the requested zoning ordinance amendments to the Mayor and Council. Commissioner Engel seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to recommend the requested zoning ordinance amendments to the Mayor and Council passes.

6. 2025 By-Laws

Planning Commission Action:

Commissioner Hellmich made a motion to approve the 2025 by-laws. Commissioner Quaites seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion to approve the 2025 by-laws.

7. Election of 2025 Officers

Planning Commission Action:

Commissioner Hellmich made a motion for the current officers Chairman Wes Abrams and Vice Chairman Calvin Hare to serve for 2025. Commissioner Hinesley seconded the motion. All Commissioners voted aye.

Motion for the current officers Chairman Wes Abrams and Vice Chairman Calvin Hare to serve for 2025 passes.

Note: *Denotes property located in the Planning Jurisdiction

ADJOURN:

Chairman Abrams made a motion to adjourn the meeting at p.m.

Motion to adjourn the meeting at p.m. passes. 5:43